Thursday 11 June 2020

three-fourths of the several states

Inscribed as the nineteenth amendment to the US constitution nearly a half century before once it passed the federal legislature and the requisite threshold of state legislatures and having gone into effect nationwide, Louisiana, one of the three holdouts, held a vote, symbolic but meaningful nonetheless and having previously come out against it 1 July 1920, to affirm the extension of suffrage and enfranchisement to women (see previously here and here). North Carolina followed suit in May 1971, and Mississippi finally ratified the amendment in March 1984.