Monday, 21 September 2020

order uśmiechu

Distinguished from other knighthood and foreign honours, the Order of the Smile is conferred on recipients after being nominated and voted on by children in recognition of their love, care and aid.  Bestowed biannually from Świdnica outside of Warsaw since 1968, laureates—knights and dames, though the right to use the title is restricted to only those decorated with an official ceremony at one of the organisation’s chapters—include Astrid Lindgren—author of Pippi Longstocking, Saudi pediatrician Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Rabeeah, the Fourteenth Dalai Lama, Steve Spielberg, German singer Peter Maffay, Pope Francis, Nelson Mandela, Peter Ustinov, Oprah Winfrey, Mother Teresa and Tove Jansson, creator of the Moomins.